Back to Main Menu

The Diplomats

Matthias Erzberger was head of the German Delegation that signed the Armistice in November 1918.  He was later murdered by a right-wing extremist group that opposed the Armistice and the Treaty of Versailles. Photo credit.
Separator Bar
There were literally thousands of diplomats (and their staffs) participating in the Paris peace process, and below are listed some of the key players in the negotiations. (I will eventually get around to writing up some information on each of them.)  Current History (April 1919) ran a short article "Who's Who in the Peace Conference:  Brief Biographies of the Delegates Who Are Shaping the Treaty of Peace at Paris" (*.pdf file), including a seating chart.
Woodrow Wilson Georges Clemenceau Vittorio Orlando David Lloyd George
Nikola Pašić Eleuthérios Venizélos Edvard Beneš Ignacy Jan Paderewski
Jan Christian Smuts Mustafa Kemal Pasha (Atatürk) Ulrich Graf von Brockdorff-Rantzau Ho Chi Minh
Louis Botha King Faisal I of Iraq (Faisal bin Al Hussein Bin Ali El-Hashemi) Juan A. Buero 
King Albert I of Belgiumt Ion I. C. (Ionel) Brătianu Ganga Singh of Bikaner (the Maharaja of Bikaner) King Victor Emmanuel III of Italy
Robert Lansing Arthur James Balfour, 1st Earl of Balfour Stéphen Pichon Baron Sidney Costantino Sonnino
Colonel House Maurice Hankey Paul Mantoux Eddie Jackson 
General Tasker Bliss General Sir Henry Wilson Admiral Sir Rosslyn Wemyss  
André Pierre Gabriel Amédée Tardieu François Marie Denis Georges-Picot Henry White T.E. Lawrence
Gustav Bauer Dr. Hermann Müller   Matthias Erzberger
Winston Churchill Theodore Roosevelt  
W.E.B Dubois Marshal Ferdinand Foch  

This page is copyright © 2005-17, C.T. Evans
For information contact